Ice Skating session at Somerset House ⛸

Sommerset House at Christmas time is gorgeous, in the center of the grand 18th century coutyard they place a massive 900 square metre outdoor ice rink making it one of the capitals most festive outings!

Around the ice rink are a number of bars which don’t need a ticket to be accessed. The Fortum’s Lodge menu features winter classics; sharing fondue for two with mulled wine. Whilst the Botanical Bar offers champagne and cocktails.

Abbie and I stepped out onto the ice on a Friday night, which happened to be DJ night, which was an awful lot of fun! However skating to the beat is not as easy as it seems especially when you are like Bambi on ice…! I went round squeezing Abbie’s hand as tight as I possibly could and at one point I was screaming at the top of my lungs thinking I was going to fall, at which point Abbie said to me “Stop screaming Kel you’re embarrassing me”. I think she hated me because she was eyeing up potential hot guys aha!

I would definitely recommend Somerset House for ice skating, located a 5 minute walk from either Charring Cross or Embankment Tube station and tickets from £7.50. It is the perfect date night, or laugh with the girls! Just make sure you wrap up warm and wear gloves…it’s not a fashion show, although this is very hypocritical of me to say this because I never dress appropriately!

 

Leave a Reply

